• Profile

What's New

Chairman & Managing Director

Dinesh K Sarraf, 57, is the Chairman & Managing Director of Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Ltd (ONGC), India’s most valuable Maharatna public sector enterprise and one of the most premier E&P companies in the world. ONGC is one of the most valuable companies of India and one of the Fortune’s Most Admired companies in the world.

Mr. Sarraf is also the Chairman of ONGC Videsh Ltd, operating across 16 countries, Chairman of Mangalore Refinery & Petrochemicals Ltd (MRPL) and five other ONGC Group companies (OPaL- ONGC Petro-additions Ltd, OMPL – ONGC Mangalore Petrochemicals Ltd, MSEZ- Mangalore SEZ Ltd, OTPC- ONGC Tripura Power Company Ltd and OMEL- ONGC Mittal Energy Ltd).

Mr. Sarraf graduated in Commerce from Shri Ram College of Commerce, Delhi University and holds a post graduate degree in Commerce from the same University. He is an associate member of the Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India and the Institute of Company Secretaries of India.

He has experience of over three and half decades in the oil and gas industry, having started his oil and gas career in Oil India Ltd. He joined ONGC in 1991 and handled various key assignments at corporate offices. He was elevated to the post of Director (Finance) in ONGC Videsh in 2005 where he served till 2007. During this period, OVL made significant acquisitions in Syria, Brazil, Colombia, Venezuela, Cuba, Egypt and Myanmar. In December 2007, he joined back ONGC as Director (Finance).

In 2011, Mr. Sarraf went back to ONGC Videsh assuming the charge of its Managing Director. As MD he transformed ONGC Videsh into an aggressive growth engine for ONGC Group by clinching many high value deals within a short span of time. In March, 2014, he joins back ONGC as its Chairman & Managing Director.

    Responsibilities & Affiliations of Mr D K Sarraf:

  1. Chairman & Managing Director, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Ltd. (ONGC)
  2. Chairman, ONGC Videsh Limited (OVL)
  3. Chairman, Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Limited (MRPL)
  4. Chairman, ONGC Petro additions Limited (OPaL)
  5. Chairman, ONGC Tripura Power Company Limited (OTPC)
  6. Chairman, Mangalore SEZ Limited (MSEZ)
  7. Chairman, ONGC Mangalore Petrochemicals Limited (OMPL)
  8. Chairman, ONGC-Mittal Energy Limited (OMEL)
  9. Director, Petronet LNG Ltd (PLL)
  10. Chairman, ONGC Energy Centre Trust
  11. Member, Board for Reconstruction of Public Sector Enterprises (BRPSE)
  12. Chairman, Petrotech Society
  13. President, Global Compact Network, India (GCN)
  14. Co-Opted Member, Executive Committee, SCOPE
  15. Member, Advisory Council, Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology (RGIPT)
  16. Member, Board of Governors, Institute of  Public Enterprise (IPE), Hyderabad
  17. Ex-Officio Member of the Executive Board of ISM, Dhanbad
  18. Member (Ex-Officio) of the Executive Committee of WEC, India
  19. Member, Council for Industry and Higher Education Collaboration (CIHEC)
  20. Member, India Pakistan Joint Business Forum (IPJBF)- CII
  21. Member, CII National Committee on Hydrocarbon
  22. Member, CII National Council on PSEs.
  23. Member, India Africa Business Council (IABC), FICCI
  24. Member, FICCI International Council
  25. Member, India-Japan Business Leaders’ Forum (IJBLF)­-CII
  26. Member, India Russia CEOs Council-FICCI
  27. Member, India Australia CEO’s Council- CII
  28. Member, Steering Committee, National Foundation for Corporate Social Responsibility (NFCSR) - an initiative of Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs.


    Awards, Fellowships & Accolades for Mr D K Sarraf

  1. Best CFO Award in Oil & Gas sector in India by CNBC in 2009 and 2011.
  2. 'IPE HR Leadership Award 2012' in the category 'CEO with HR orientation' on February 16, 2012
  3. “Corporate Excellence Awards for excellent corporate governance” by IPE, Hyderabad in June, 2013.
  4. “CEPM-PMA Fellowship” was conferred on December 2, 2013. Dr M Veerappa Moily, Hon’ble Minister of P&NG presented the fellowship.
Updated on : 18th November 2014